Home » Kashmiri Bloggers – A Wealth of Voices in Kashmir

Kashmiri Bloggers – A Wealth of Voices in Kashmir


A Wealth of Voices in Kashmir


by Francesca Recchia @kiccovich

About a year ago, Rich Autumns @RichAutumns and I started discussing about the blog-sphere in Kashmir. It was before my trip to Srinagar, I thought I would use some of the time of my visit and meet bloggers and feel the pulse of the place.

A few hours after I arrived in Srinagar the snow came, loads of snow, so the plan faded, but I consoled myself with the good company of friends and cup after cup of noon chai.

Just before the end of 2014, the debate around blogging in Kashmir sparked again on Twitter – following the momentum, Rich and I decided to get back to our list, a modest one of maybe twenty-five links or so. Within a few hours, we decided to make the list public and look for contribution from those who were taking part in the discussion online.

To our greatest surprise, suggestions and recommendations started to flood in with great enthusiasm. Haamid Peerzada @A123LAD has been particularly helpful and without his contribution the list would have not taken the shape that it has today: almost two hundred names!

The list can be found below and it is still very much a work in progress. My hope is that I can make sometime soon to write a proper review of what we’ve found, for now I am thrilled at having stumbled upon an immense treasure: a wealth of voices and a great desire for expression, which fills me with hope in such a delicate political moment in the Valley.

Kashmiri Bloggers – curated by Francesca Recchia (@kiccovich) and Rich Autumns (@RichAutumns)

Curated by:
@RichAutumns (richautumns.blogspot.com) &
Francesca Recchia (kiccovich.net) (samavarblog.wordpress.com)

A
A page. Every year. https://beenakawoosa.wordpress.com/ by @beenakawoosa
Aatish-e Samovar by Naseer Ganai http://kashmirreporter.blogspot.it/
Aatish-e-khoon http://muhammadfaysal.wordpress.com by @_Faysal
Ahmed Ali Fayyaz http://aafayyaz.blogspot.com/
Akif Kichloo http://akifkichloo.com/ by @akifkichloo
AlhaquMurun (Truth Is Bitter) http://www.alhaqumurun.wordpress.com by Iftikhar Ashraf @AlhaquMurun
Altaf Qadri http://www.altafqadri.com/#/home?i=374 by @AltafQadriAP
Amitabh Mattoo http://amitabhmattoo.blogspot.com/
Amreen Naqash http://afalconn.wordpress.com/ @Amreen_Naqash
Anjan Bilal http://anjanbilal.blogspot.com/
Arjimand Hussain Talib http://arjimandtalib.blogspot.com/
Ashiq Bhat http://ashiqbhat.blogspot.com/
Ashok Parimoo http://ashokparimoo.blogspot.com/
Asim Rafiqui – The idea of India http://www.asimrafiqui.com/blog/
Asma Yasrib http://sakooterspeaks.com/

B
Baba Umarr http://umarblogs.blogspot.com/
Bhagii Murid http://bhagimurid.blogspot.it/
Banday Aaqib https://bandayaaqib.wordpress.com/ by @letme_think
Basim Amin – the Mouthpiece https://basimamin.wordpress.com/
Basit Banday https://basitbanday.wordpress.com/
Beauty of Kashmir http://beautyofkashmir.tumblr.com/
Beenish Habib http://beenishhabib.blogspot.com/
Beigh’s Blog http://idreesbeigh.wordpress.com/
Bilal Hussain http://bilalhussainstringer.blogspot.com/
Bilal Nazki http://bilalnazki.blogspot.com/ by @bilalnazki
Bilhan Koul https://bilhankaul.wordpress.com/
Birjais W http://imagine2bmistaken.blogspot.com/ by @birjais_wani
Blood Rivers of Kashmir http://bloodiedrivers.wordpress.com @BloodiedRivers
Burhaan Kinu http://burhaankinu.wix.com/burhaankinu by @burhaankinu

C
Cashmerian Sanscrit by Mrinal Kaul http://kashuradab.wordpress.com
Chinar Shade http://autarmota.blogspot.com/
Chinar Valley http://chinarvalley.blogspot.com/ by @payami_
Crafted in Kashmir http://craftedinkashmir.tumblr.com/
Cups of Noon chai http://cupsofnunchai.wordpress.com

D
Danish Shakeel http://danishshakeelkv2.blogspot.com/
Daniyal Bashir http://Daniiyal.wordpress.com/ by @Dbr_x
District Development Forum Pulwama http://distdevforum.blogspot.in/
Divine Soul http://atharkash.blogspot.in/
Dr Irfanyan https://drirfanayan.wordpress.com/
Dr Seemin Rubab http://drseeminrubab.blogspot.com/ by @srubab

E
Erfan Bhat, Stonepelter http://stonepelter.blogspot.com/

F
Faheem Jeelani http://faheemjeelani.blogspot.com/
Film Kashmir filmkashmir.blogspot.in by Ruman Hamdani @TheOtherRumi
Flavours of Kashmir http://flavoursof-kashmir.blogspot.in/
Firdous Sayed Baba http://firdoussyedbaba.blogspot.com/
Free Kashmir http://kashmir.wordpress.com/ @FreeKashmir

G
Greater Tral http://greatertral.blogspot.com/

H
Haamid Peerzada http://a123lad.wordpress.com/ by @a123Lad
Hakim Irfan (Ahlan wa Sahlan) http://hakeemirfan.blogspot.com/
Hameem Jan http://www.timesofkashmir.com/ by @timesofKashmir @HameemYJ
Haris Rigoo http://www.harisrigoo.blogspot.it/
Hushed Voice http://inshahmalik.wordpress.com/ by @InshahMalik
Huzaifa http://naqsh-e–faryadi.blogspot.com/

I
Imran Muzaffer http://imranparray.wordpress.com @imranmuzafer
Imran Parray – The Cipher Herald http://imranparray.wordpress.com/
Insha Bint Bashir inshabintbashir.wordpress.com by @InshaBintBashir
Inshah – Hushed Voice http://inshahmalik.blogspot.com/
Iqbal Lone http://iqballone.wordpress.com/
Irfan Tramboo http://irfantramboo.blogspot.com/ by @irfan_tramboo
Ishfaq Ahmad http://ishfaqahmad.blogspot.com/

J
Jaasindha Mir http://jrlovesbooks.blogspot.com/ by @JassiMir
Jehangir Ali http://gaamuk.tumblr.com/ by @Gaamuk
Jibran Reflects Too http://jibran-reflects-too.blogspot.com/
Junaid Azim Mattu http://junaidmattu.blogspot.it/ by @Junaid_Mattu
Junaid Bhat http://junaid-bhat.blogspot.com/
Junaid Makbool https://junaidmakbool.wordpress.com/
Junaid Rather… http://nuggetsbyrather.blogspot.it/

K
Kasheer http://kasheer.wordpress.com/ by @iShahnaz
Kashir Mashikk http://mashikk.wordpress.com/ Umar Lateef Misgar @kaashur
Kashmir Art Quest http://www.kashmirartquest.org/ by @KashmirArtQuest @syedmmujtaba
Kashmir Dispute http://kashmirrage.blogspot.it/ by Nishwat Rasool
Kashmired http://kashmired.blogspot.com/ by @TavseefM and @MirFaizanUlHaq
kashmir forum http://kashmir.forumakers.com/
Kashmir Image http://kashmirimage.blogspot.com/
Kashmir Ki Kali http://kashmirkikali.tumblr.com/
Kashmir Leader http://kashmirleader.blogspot.com/ by @tanvirsadiq
Kashmir Oral History http://kashmiroralhistory.org/
Kashmir Postoffice http://kashmirpostoffice.blogspot.com/
Kashmir Reflects http://kashmirreflects.blogspot.com/
Kashmir Standard, The http://kashmirstandard.wordpress.com/
Kashmir Sufis https://kashmirsufis.wordpress.com/ by @RahilNazir
Kashmir Through My Eyes http://kashmirthroughmyeyes.blogspot.com/
Kashmir View http://www.kashmirview.in/ @KashmirView
Kashmir views http://umarblogs.blogspot.it
Kashmir fact files http://javaidmalik.blogspot.com/ by Javaid Malik
Kashmiri food http://www.kashmirifood.com/
Kashmiri Soul http://musharimsayeedahmad.wordpress.com/
Kashmirian http://thekashmirian.wordpress.com/
Kasmiri Witness http://ispeaksilencee.wordpress.com/ @Sarmatspeaks
Kashmir Reflects http://kashmirreflects.blogspot.com/
Khawaja Hamad http://khawajahamad.wordpress.com/ bu @Khawajahamad
Khursheed Parray Photography http://khursheedparrayphotography.wordpress.com/
Koshur Khargosh http://koshurkhargosh.wordpress.com/

L
Lost Kashmiri history https://lostkashmirihistory.wordpress.com/

M
Majid Pandit http://www.setmefreee.com/ by @majidpandit
Make Humans Again http://makehumansagain.blogspot.com/
Makhdoom Sahib http://makhdoomsahib.blogspot.com/
Malik Aabid http://malikabid555.blogspot.com/
Malik Xubair http://malikxubair.wordpress.com/
Maroof Shah http:/maroofshah.blogspot.com
Mashikk http://mashikk.wordpress.com/ by Umar Lateef Misgar @kaashur
Maz?meen by Mohamad Junaid http://mohamadjunaid.wordpress.com
Mehdi Zafar http://liveaxle.wordpress.com/ by @mehdizafar
Mir Burhan https://burhanspeaks.wordpress.com/ by @burhanspeaks
Mir Nazim http://mirnazim.org/
Mirza Shoaib http://theindependentthoughts.wordpress.com/ by @mirza_shoaib1
Mohammad Ashraf http://www.kashmirfirst.com/
Mohsin Bin Mushtaq http://thekashmirweave.wordpress.com/ by @mohsinbms
Mohsin ud Din https://dangerville.wordpress.com/
Moderate Voice of Jammu, Kashmir & Ladakh http://moderatekashmir.blogspot.in/
Mudasir Ali http://mudasirali.wordpress.com/ by @iMudasirAli
Mudassir Ali Lone https://aleemudasir.wordpress.com/ by @aleemudasir
Muslim Students of Kashmir http://kashmirimuslims.wordpress.com/
Muzaffar http://muzaffar-askesis.blogspot.com/ and http://muzaffar-askesis.blogspot.com/
Muzammil Karim http://pharmakeusmuzammil.blogspot.com/

N
Nadeem Qadri (Blogger Profile) https://www.blogger.com/profile/13827702259900025487
Naira Yaqoob http://nairayaqoob.wordpress.com/ by @nairayaqoob
Nasir Dar http://nasirdarsays.wordpress.com/
Nasrun Mir http://nmumir.wordpress.com/ by @nasrunmir
Navmi Kaul http://navmikaul.wordpress.com/ by @NavmiKoul
Nawaz Gul Qanungo http://www.drqanungo.blogspot.com/ by @drqanungo
Nishwan Rasool http://kashmirrage.blogspot.com/
Nitasha Koul http://nitashakaul.com/ by @NitashaKoul
Notes from Kashmir http://koshur.blogspot.com/
Nuzhat Fatima http://nuzhatfatima.blogspot.com/ by @fatimafiles

O
Obie http://postcardfromkashmir.tumblr.com/ – @obi3e
Omair Bhat https://bhatomair.wordpress.com/ and bhatomair.wordpress.com by @OmairBhat
Omer Shafi http://omershafi.tumblr.com/ http://omershafee.wordpress.com/
Onaiza Drabu http://onaizad.wordpress.com/ http://dilliauto.blogspot.com/ http://liptonchaiblog.wordpress.com/ by @OnaizaD

P
Paanwein Koshur http://paanwaenkashir.wordpress.com/
Peerzadaa http://peerzadaa.wordpress.com/
Pen and Freedom http://penandfreedom.wordpress.com/
Perceptions http://shakirmir.blogspot.in/
Poiesis http://poiesismubashirkarim.blogspot.com/ by @Mubashir_Karim

Q
Qadri Inzamam http://qadriinzamam.wordpress.com/ by @Qadri_Inzamam
Qazi Mamoon http://www.qazimamoon.com/
Qazi Naveed http://qazinaveedajaz.blogspot.com/ and http://www.insightskashmir.blogspot.com/ by @NaveedQazi
Qazi Zaid http://qazizaidreports.wordpress.com/

R
Rahil Nazir http://nundreshi.blogspot.com/
Rahul Pandita sanitysucks.blogspot.com
Raja Muneeb http://rajamuneeb.thoughts.com/
Read Kashmir http://www.readkashmir.com/
Rediscovering The Essence of Arnimaal http://arnimaal.blogspot.com/
Riahana Maqbool http://riahanamaqbool.blogspot.com/ by @RiahanaMaqbool
Rich Autumns http://richautumns.blogspot.com/ by @RichAutumns
Riyaz Ali Magray http://koshurculture.blogspot.com/ http://talesfromheaven.wordpress.com/
Riyaz’s World http://riyazsworld.blogspot.com/
Riz Sheikh http://rizsheikhs.wordpress.com/
Rouf Dar (Darbar) http://roufdar.wordpress.com/ by @RoufDar_
ruhan madni http://pensiveravings.blogspot.com/ by @NaqKash

S
Saadut http://mysilentmuse.wordpress.com/ and http://www.saadut.com/ by @ibnebattuta
Saalis http://saalis.blogspot.com/
Sabbah Haji http://fromahazydistance.blogspot.com/ by @imsabbah
Saima Bhat http://bhatsaima.blogspot.it/
Sair Mir http://sairmir.wordpress.com/ by @sairmir
Sajad Rafeeq http://sajadrafeeq.wordpress.com/ http://sajadrafeeq.blogspot.com/ @S_4_Sufy
Samavar http://samavarblog.wordpress.com/
Sameer Bhat http://sameerbhat.blogspot.com/
Sameer Wani http://sammeerwaniphotography.wordpress.com/
Sanaa Sultan http://sanaasultan.wordpress.com/ @Sanaa_Sultan
Saqib Majeed http://saqibmajeedphotography.wordpress.com/
Sarmad http://sarmadabbas.wordpress.com/
Sarmayae Iman http://sarmayaeiman.blogspot.com/
Shah e Hamdan http://shahihamdan.blogspot.com/ by Rahil Nazir
Shahi Shaharyar http://shahishaharyar.wordpress.com/
Shahzad Hussain Hamdani http://shahzadhamdani.blogspot.com/
Shakeeb Ashai http://koshurpinta.blogspot.com/
Shalimar http://shalimar1.wordpress.com/
Shehla Rashid http://shehlarashid.com/blog/ by @shehla_Rashid
Sheikh Fayaz Ahmed http://sheikhfayazahmad.blogspot.com/
Sheikh Meelad http://sheikhmeeladwrites.wordpress.com/ by @Sheikh_Meelad
Sheikh Saaliq http://saaliqmcrc.wordpress.com/ by @sheikh_saaliq
Sheikh Waseem Gulzar http://bizkashmir.blogspot.com/ by @sheikhwaseemgul
Sheikh Zaraar http://ibnizaraar.wordpress.com/
Sheshrang http://sheshrang.wordpress.com/
Slices of nothingness http://firasatdurrani.wordpress.com/ by Firasat Durrani @adultfiction
Souzeina Mushtaq http://souzeinam.wordpress.com
Sualeh Keen http://sualehkeen.blogspot.in/
Syed Ali Safvi http://syedalisafvi.blogspot.com/
Syed Asma http://syedasma.blogspot.it/
Syed Nazakat http://syednazakat.wordpress.com/

T
Taciturn Talks http://shahnadeem.wordpress.com/
Tahir Sayeed http://tahirsyeed.blogspot.com
Tariq Ali Mir http://tariqalimir.wordpress.com/
Tariq Naqash http://tariqnaqash.blogspot.com/
Tasim Zahid http://tasimzworld.blogspot.com/ by @Tasim
The Average Kashmiri – Umar Shams http://umarshams.wordpress.com/ by @umarShams
The Country Without a Post Office http://cwpo.tumblr.com/
The Finder http://wajidthefinder.blogspot.com/ by @abdulwajid786
The Itch Stuff http://itchstuff.tumblr.com/ by @SakibBazaz
The Saints are Coming http://2virginz.blogspot.com/
The Skull-Cap Blog kashmired.blogspot.com by @MirFaizanUlHaq and @TavseefM
Towfeeq Wani http://towfeeqwanii.wordpress.com/ by @TowfeeqWani
Treishihout Koshur http://treishihoutkoshur.wordpress.com/
Tujar Sharief by Tariq Ali http://tujarsharief.blog.com
Tulri http://tulrified.blogspot.com/, http://liftingofveil.wordpress.com/ by @tulri

U
Umer Beigh http://umerbeigh.wordpress.com/
Umer Rider http://umercycling.blogspot.com/
Upasna Kakroo – Someplace else http://upasnakakroo.co/ by @upasnakakroo
Uzair http://u2squared.wordpress.com/
Uzair Mir http://uzairmir.wordpress.com/

V
Vinayak Razdan http://www.searchkashmir.org/
Vineet Koul http://blog.guyfromvalley.com/ by @vineetkoul

W
Wahid Bukhari http://wahidbukhari.wordpress.com/
Walk of Destiny http://www.walkofdestiny.blogspot.com/ by @jaibeer1
Wander Kashmir http://wanderkashmir.tumblr.com/
Wani rahil http://wanirahil.wordpress.com/ by @WaniRahil

Y
Yaqeen Ul Haq Ahmad Sikander http://yaqeenulhaq.wordpress.com/
Yusuf Jameel http://jameelyusuf.blogspot.in/ by @jameelyusuf

Z
Zaroo Danish – Voice of Kashmiri Sufis http://zaroodanish.wordpress.com/
zom 6_4 http://rayannaqashblog.blogspot.it/ by @rayan_naqash
Zoon’eDabb http://zoonedabb.wordpress.com/
Zubair 400 http://zubair400.wordpress.com/
Zubair Lone http://zubairlone.wordpress.com/

Comments are closed.